Freedom Credit Union:  1952 to Now


The Rocky Mount ACL Federal Credit Union was established on December 8, 1952 by the Bureau of Federal Credit Unions, a division of the Social Security Administration.  The original field of membership was recorded as “Employees of the Atlantic Coast Line Railroad Company who work in or have headquarters in Nash and Edgecombe Counties, North Carolina…”


Over 60 years later, the Rocky Mount ACL Federal Credit Union is Freedom Credit Union.  Freedom now serves the employees of over 120 sponsoring companies in Raleigh and eastern NC, as well as residents of Rocky Mount, Henderson, and surrounding areas.  Freedom has grown from a single deposit account service package into a full-service, multi-branch financial institution.  In 2006, the headquarters and main branch moved to our current location on North Winstead Avenue in Rocky Mount.  We also maintain full-service branches in Raleigh, Cary and Henderson, NC. 


One thing has remained consistent since 1952 – Freedom Credit Union’s commitment to members and to the credit union philosophy.  Freedom strives to enhance the life of each member by strictly following the “Not for Profit, Not for Charity, but for Service” principle.  The knowledgeable staff at all of its branches provides the friendly, world-class service you expect from an exceptional financial institution.


Freedom Credit Union, people before profits since 1952.